Kitchen Laboratory: Experimentation

209

I have so many arbitrary thoughts scattered about and jumbled in my head right now, that I wouldn’t have a clue where to begin. For instance, my love of candles, where did that come from? I just blew out a candle on my night stand, and now my room smells of Fall and Campfires. AWESOME!! (Even though I have never gone camping before).

207

I also confess that Chelsea Handler’s book, My Horizontal Life is now my new guilty guilty pleasure.  205

That being said, now that that is all out there, I don’t have too many kitchen mishaps, and I wish that I could keep it that way. However, that’s not necessarily the case. Ever since returning from New Orleans, I have been obsessed with the history, the culture and lo and behold, the FOOD. So, I decided that I was going to make blackened catfish. That’s right. BLACKENED CATFISH.

203

I did not, however, attempt this outside. I probably should have. Now I know why they call it blackened. And I think it would have been best if I had done it on the grill in the outdoors in order to reduce the amount of smoke and fumes that I was breathing in. I thought I was going to choke with the smell of the catfish and whatever else I had been breathing in.

201

I ended up having to turn the fan on and open windows as the catfish cooked. 200

 

Fast forward about ten minutes and the catfish was cooked well done, well, most of it anyways. I’m not entirely sure if there is a type of sauce that should be served with blackened anything.

Leave a Reply

