Green Peppers and Sausages

018 019 020

As of June 5, 2013, I am no longer employed with the CT General Assembly; that’s right. Leaving was sad, and it is even more sad that I will not be getting that pay check, and that I am stuck in a dead end minimum wage job at the CT Science Center.

I am contemplating going to graduate school, or even starting my own business. It is just so difficult for someone with the amount of ambition I have to be stuck.

The only silver lining to all of this is that now, now I get to spend more time cooking. If I can’t travel (considering my circumstances, and I can’t afford to get my wisdom teeth pulled) then I might as well do one thing I enjoy. Pretty soon, I think I will start trying to make my own jams, jellies, preserves and pickles. However, if you are looking for a real good place to get preserves, then I would recommend ordering from Snowflake Kitchen. Having tried her jams, I can say that it is some of the best that I have ever had, especially the strawberry vanilla. I might also make yet another attempt at making homemade bread. Yes!! Homemade bread. After all, I need something to break up my time between sitting on my ass at home and job searching; the dauntless job search, as I watch my life pass by and watch all those I graduated with be more successful. That was never my plan, and now I practically regret every choice that I have ever made in my life, starting with deciding to quit figure-skating back in the day, and ending with, well, today. I truly feel like I have failed my parents. All I ever wanted from them was there love and approval. I want to make my parents happy, and I really want them to be proud of me. How can they be proud of me when I can’t even manage to land a full-time job or get married. FML.

Well, in all that, I managed to take some time and make green peppers and sausages, courtesy of the Greek Cookery cookbook. The recipe and ingredients are below.

Ingredients:

1. 2.2 lbs. green peppers (I used 4 green peppers)

2. 4- village made sausages (I used apple-smoked chicken sausage with gouda cheese mixed in)

3. 1 kg. tomatoes (I used a can of chopped tomatoes)

4. 2 medium onions, finely chopped

5. 1 cup olive oil (I substituted this for a flavored mix olive oil that I purchased from Yankee candle that had herbs in it)

6. salt, pepper (I prefer using sea salt)

7. pinch of sugar (I skipped this ingredient)

Directions:

Put the tomatoes through a food mill. Cut the peppers and sausages into slices, heat the oil and saute them lightly. Add the remaining ingredients and simmer until the sauce has thickened.

Leave a Reply

