GREEK FESTIVAL

photo (48) photo (47) photo (46) photo (45) photo (44) photo (43)

June 5th. Wednesday, June 5, 2013, that is a day I’m dreading. Why, you ask? Because on June 5, I will be back at square 1. My temporary position with the CT General Assembly’s division at the Office of Legislative Research will be over, and I will be back, like many other 20-somethings, enduring a fruitless and dauntless job search. You can’t see me, but I am literally rolling my eyes over and over and over again in my head.

I will say, however, that I did get more of a small type job. I begin that tomorrow, working as the Clerk for the Windsor Town Council. That is exciting. I will probably start preparing for that and reading over my notes later tonight, instead of posting to this blog.

It’s frustrating and embarrassing to not have gone anywhere in my life. Being the control freak that I am, I have had my life planned from the time that I was about 8 years old. I was supposed to have a full time job by now (preferably as a famous actress). I was supposed to have my own flat (ideally in a large metropolitan area–such as NYC or DC or Chicago). I was supposed to be married (to Jordan Gaillard). Yes, we literally had everything planned. So as you can clearly see, none of my plans worked out.

Of course, if I am not worrying about getting a job, certainly I will be worrying about something else, be it getting my own place or purchasing a new car, or getting my articles published or launching my own business. I always have things weighing on my mind. And, I am always envious of other people. I always forget to count my own blessings, and am too blind to see how lucky I really am. So, that is were I’m at.

In spite of all that suckishness, I decided to have fun by going to the Greek Festival at St. George Cathedral in Hartford. Of course, I was not there for all the singing and dancing, but I was there to explore Greek food and culture. If there is one thing that I enjoy, it is exploring other cultures–their history and the food from those cultures. As you can see from the pictures above, I did just that, including experiencing the sweet succulent taste of Baklava.

Leave a Reply

