Hartford Baking Co vs. Clear Flour

250px-FD_1

I can’t say that the two are exactly rivals. And, it was quite some time ago that I went to Clear Flour Bakery. Try 3 or 4 years ago. Boy how the time flies. In any case, I can tell you what I do remember about the bread. It was delicious. Not every type of bread is offered every day, but the list of foods that they offer is quite extensive. They offer something for everyone from warm seeded deli rye and soft cheese torte to a Sourdough and Venetian Olive. In spite of all the carbs, I am a bread addict. I love bread with melted cheese on top, bread in french onion soup, bruschetta, with the olive oil and tomatoes on top, bread used for sandwiches and bread dipped in oil-all types of oil (if you go to Crate and Barrel or any specialty or gourmet food stores, you will know what I’m talking about). Of course, with all that flour in my system, you would think that I am much heavier than I am. With affordable prices, even those college kids strapped for cash can afford real bread once in a while. Get your flour on at Clear Flour.

However, on the other hand, there is the Hartford Baking Company. For those in the Hartford area, this is a place that is worth trying at least once. I remember, one of the first things I had from this place was a pear scone. Now, I am not partial to scones. I like the idea, but I think they are dry and crumbly and should be placed in a time machines and sent to medieval London. Nonetheless, I was rather pleased with the Hartford Baking Company’s scones and coffee. To see what I’m talking about, check out their menu. They even offer bread baking classes. I have always wanted to learn how to bake bread. Let me put it this way, I have attempted to bake bread three times. I failed every single time. Literally. Every single time I have attempted to bake the most basic of breads, the white bread, it has come out as hard as rock. So, to learn how to make soft warm breads from scratch, I have registered for a bread baking class with Billings Forge in Hartford, CT. I only hope that the Hartford Baking Co. offers more bread baking classes. But why does bread have to be so challenging to make? Any college student in the area is sure to enjoy these warm and soft artisan breads.

Leave a Reply

