When in London, Eat as the Londoners Eat

2 years ago  on April 29, Prince William and Kate Middleton got married. Although this was not a very momentous occasion for me (it was not my wedding or a friend’s baby shower or a bachelor party) I can still tell you were I was, who I was with and what I was doing.

London has always felt like a second home to me. I think I have been there three times (staing in Hammersmith at the Novotell). And while there, I made sure to eat at Black Swan (my personal favorite place for Fish and Chips in all of London). If I magically was offered a job to work in London tomorrow, preferably at a London PR firm, then I would most likely be on the next flight out of my hometown.

Anyways, back then, I was in my Boston apartment, and I had, yes, I took the time to make my very own beer-battered fish and chips!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Let me emphasize that. BEER-BATTERED FISH AND CHIPS!!! And it was delicious, if I do say so myself. Once you make fries from scratch, not only are they probably more healthy and have fewer preservatives, you can kiss BURGER KING, MCDONALDS, and WENDY’s good bye.

Off the top of my head, the basic ingredients for this taste of awesomeness is flour, cod fish or haddock (please do not go with white fish) and then beer (I can’t recall what beer I used the first time I made this–but I will tell you, it was so tottally worth it. The fish and chips came out so light and fluffy, and crisp at the same time. The fish was moist on the inside and the batter was nice and crisp. I couldn’t ask for a better first time to commemerate Will and Kate’s fairytale wedding; especially when I could not actually be there in London. I will, however, still have to say that the best Fish and Chips you will ever find, can only and will only be found in the place that started it all, London.

images imagesCABVM8H9

Beer-battered anything is yummylicious.

Check out this awesome fish and chips recipe below:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/beer-battered-fish-and-chips-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

