Avoid the Freshman 15

15

 

Oh, I know; trust me, I really do know how hard that is to do, avoiding the freshman 15. I remember when I first headed off to college, I was flabbergasted by the wide range of food I now had access to. Now, here, let me add, that it was more than the fact that I just had access to this food.

I went to school in Boston, right on the Fenway. We had the cafeteria that was open until 8, then we had the Max which was open until midnight. And, on top of all that, we were located directly across the street from a 24 hour supermarket. That meant, all food, all the time–we would never go hungry.

I still remember all of the food that I had access to on campus, things like chicken tenders and fries, turkey burgers, cheeseburgers, caprese sandwiches, eggs over easy, eggs over hard, omelettes, pasta with alfredo and marinara sauce. My mouth is watering just by talking about this with you.

For lunch, and dinner, I often made my way to one of two stations (this might have had something to do with the fact that the two stations I selected {pasta and stir fry} were the two quickest stations. It certainly beat standing in the long line for the grill.

When I was in the pasta line, I often got my pasta with alfredo and marinara mixed together, and would sometimes have them toss in mushrooms and then sprinkle it with extra cheese.

As for stir fry, I often got beef with carrots, bok choy, mushrooms and more, and then had them mix in hoison sauce and then pour it all over my white rice.

Of course, so I would feel less guilty, often times I ignored my dessert cravings, and went for the salad from the salad bar. Now, here’s were it gets tricky, careful of those dressings (avoid dressings such as French) and go for vinaigrette, something that is light and has fewer calories. Better yet, olive oil and vinegar works just the same.

Now, here are my tips for avoiding the freshman 15:

1) Avoid fried foods (that includes french fries, cheeseburgers, hamburgers)–if you are going to go for a burger, let it be turkey. Turkey is generally more healthy for you.

2) Try a poached egg or an egg over easy or hard boiled egg instead of a fried egg

3) Do not eat after 7 p.m.

4) Stay away from the late night on campus bites and those 24 hour grocery stores

5) Do not eat pasta every single day for lunch and dinner (IT IS ALL CARBS AND YOU WILL REGRET IT LATER)

6) It’s kind of hard to go wrong with stir fry; you do not have to be a vegetarian, just make sure you fill up on those vegetables

7) Do not fill up on DESSERTS! If you must have a dessert, one will suffice. The only desserts you are allowed to fill up on are anything fruity!!! REMEMBER THAT!! And your body will thank you!

8) Craving chicken of sorts? Get it grilled! Avoid the fats and grease.

9) Cook your own food!! At least that way, you know exactly what you are putting into it. On top of cooking your own food, you can adjust it to your specific taste and preference (more salt, less salt, extra herbs and additional seasonings etc. You get the picture, right?)

By: Catherine Adrienne Rose

Leave a Reply

